Kat Stratford: My Main Chic

So this morning as I was watching 10 Things I Hate About You, the quirky 90’s romantic comedy, it dawned on me that one of the lead characters has my personality. It’s almost a little terrifying how similar our attitude really is.

Realization number 1: She is rocking out to some Bad Reputation by Joan Jett and the Black Hearts in the first scene of the movie. If you know my love for 80s rock music, I needn’t say more.

*For those of you who don’t know this song, the lyrics are “I don’t give a damn ‘bout my bad reputation. You’re living in the past; it’s a new generation. A girl can do what she wants to do and that’s what I’m gonna do.” Basically a description of my life.

enhanced-buzz-26472-1379104844-16

Realization number 2: As they are sitting in their English class, Kat makes a very valid point when she states “I guess in this society being male and an a$$hole makes you worthy of our time.” She also states a few moments later when a tardy students asks what he missed that they were discussing “the oppressive patriarchal values that dictate our education.” Ask any of my high school teachers, and they will tell you this is definitely something that came out of my mouth once or twice in class.

asshole

Realization number 3: Kat is sitting in the principal’s office with the guidance counselor. The dialogues goes: Miss Perry: “People perceive you as somewhat…” Kat: “Tempestuous?” Miss Perry: “Heinous b*tch” is the term used most often. You might wanna work on that.” Kat simply smiles, much like I would. And I cannot tell you how many times my mother has given me the same advice.

Kat - smile after henious bitch

Realization number 4: As Kat is sitting in a chair with a good book, Kat’s dad greats her with a “Hello Katrina. Make anyone cry today” to which she replies “Sadly no. But it’s only four-thirty.” This is very similar to conversations I have had with my own father.

sadly no but its only 4-30

Realization number 5: She refers to a guy as a flaming imbecile and refers to her peers as “unwashed miscreants.” This is how I feel every day of my life.

asshole day

Realization number 6: How gracefully she comes up with snarky and sarcastic comments to deter any boy that even attempts to give her romantic attention. Really, she’s genius.

Am i that transparent

Realization number 7: When she tells her sister she isn’t hostile, she is annoyed. And then her sister says that she is incapable of human interaction. Honestly, who isn’t annoyed by human interaction?

annoyed

Realization number 8: When she says that the party is just “a lame excuse for all the idiots at our school to drink beer and rub up against each other in hopes of distracting themselves from the pathetic emptiness of their meaningless, consumer-driven lives” I walk into most parties, look around the room, and immediately head for the exact. I can’t be in a room with that much idiocy.

didnt want it

Realization number 9: When she kicks a soccer ball at Patrick’s face because he made her mad.  We can hold a serious grudge and might act out in physical violence. I usually threaten with throat punches due to the fact that me kicking a soccer ball at someone might result in hitting and unsuspecting bystander.

panties in a twist

Realization number 10: When Patrick breaks down her walls and you see that she really isn’t a “heinous b*tch.” She just built up a wall to protect herself from getting hurt. We are like sour patch kids, first we are sour, then we are sweet, you just have to take the time to get to know us!

i dont hate you

Copyright information for all pictures and gifs: Lazar, A. (Producer), & Junger, G. (Director). (1999). 10 Things I Hate About You [Motion Picture]. United States: Touchstone Pictures.

6 thoughts on “Kat Stratford: My Main Chic

  1. I just watched this movie with my son a couple of weeks ago! As soon as I started reading, I was like YES! Jayden is totally like Kat! Really love the emotional punch of Realization #10. (Terrific structure for this post too. I’m totally stealing this!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

