My Slice of Life

I am sitting here, starting at my computer screen thinking of something interesting about my life this week that I can blog about, but all of my posts turn into rants about things that happened this weeks instead. One started about how my dad called and ruined my day with some really terrible news, or how my cars body control module went bad and it needs fixed, or how some guy posted on Facebook about how men are equally oppressed and objectified as women or how I have reached a point in my partying career where I hate house parties or how one of my professors drives me bananas. It has been a long week to say the least.

See, I’m ranting again. (Just in short bursts)

So my slice of life today is going to be about letting all the negative things go and trying to find the positive things. Every morning when I wake up, I try to think about three things that God has blessed me with that I am thankful for and every night before I fall asleep, I try to think of something good that happened that makes the bad things irrelevant.

I’m not really a morning person and sometimes I am running behind so this can often be a mid afternoon/late night activity, but it works. When you actually take time to think about all of the wonderful things around you, then you spend less time thinking about the things that hurt you.

So keep your heads, even if everything really sucks right now, there is so much to be thankful for.

2 thoughts on “My Slice of Life

  1. Thinking of what you’re blessed with every morning (or late afternoon or evening or whenever :)) is such a good idea! I want to start doing it. I think it would really help keep everything in perspective.

    Like

Leave a Reply

