My response to this weeks assigned readings!

The first thing that really caught my eye and got me thinking was the point in Hunter’s Raising Students Who Want To Read, was her discussion extrinsic and intrinsic motivation. As future teachers, we need to know and understand what kind of motivation that we have ourselves: are we working for the paycheck or are we working to make our students love to read and write! Hopefully is the latter. I also really loved her point “what teachers can do” list. I thought it was very insightful and it has a lot of points on the list that we talk about a lot with Dr. Ellington. I especially liked how she said that we need to let students pick their own texts, but we as teachers need to have a variety of texts for them to choose from. This just reinstates the previous points we have made in this class about teachers being diverse readers for our future students. I also really liked the points about discussion. Encouraging them to talk about what they read is super important, I always loved talking about the books I was reading and having my teacher seemed interested. It made me feel like it was some grand accomplishment that I should be talking about, the same applies for Elisabeth Ellington having us blog about our books! It makes me feel like an accomplished reader!

I really liked Jim Bailey’s article about the GERM, which is a perfect way to describe it. I hated AR when I was in school, I HATED IT. It was stupid. Literally the dumbest thing ever. and I DESPISED it, I ABHORRED it with everything in me, but I was always the student with the most AR points at the end of the month, but that was because I read really big books (meeting much protest from my teachers for reading above the rest of the classes reading level by three grades) that were marked for a lot of points, and I read a lot of them because I liked reading, I hated AR tests. But I had to take them. Anyway, I loved all the ideas that they had to get everyone excited about reading without forcing them to take a dumb test afterwards. I think that discussion is soon much beneficial to readers than a test is. When you actually talk about what is going on in the book with other people that are reading or have read it, then you become so much more engaged.

I really enjoyed both of these articles and if you have not read them, then i encourage you to do so!

https://nerdybookclub.wordpress.com/2015/02/08/curing-the-reading-germ-by-jim-bailey/

http://teacher.scholastic.com/products/authors/pdfs/Raising_Students.pdf

One thought on “My response to this weeks assigned readings!

  1. Intrinsic vs. extrinsic is an age-old discussion. I always found it interesting that to deal with my students who had very challenging behavior, extrinsic was the only thing used. I think a shift is needed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

