It is Monday! What are you reading? 3/23/15

Beautiful bbeautifuly Amy Reed has been my read for this week! It is a dark story about a girls struggle with the world of drugs. It has even been compared to Go Ask Alice. The main character, Cassie, moves to a new town and decided that she doesn’t want to be the same shy, straight edge person that she has been all her life. Cassie is only in 7th grade, but she ends up with a group of Freshman that will use and abuse any substance that they can get their hands on. As Cassie gets caught up in the world of drugs, sex, and rock and roll, as a reader, you keep wanting her to make the right decision and figure out that she is being dumb and naive. As a reader, you know that the people that Cassie is hanging out with are going to be her downfall and something really bad is going to happen and it really makes you connect with the book. There are characters in the book that we can all relate to someone that we know or have known in our time in high school and college.

What I loved most about this book is how realistic it is. It shows just how easily young, impressionable kids can get into a bad crowd and lose sight of their morals and sense of wrong and right. If you liked Ellen Hopkin’s books, then this one is definitely for you. It has the same dark tone that Hopkins has throughout her books with similar subject matter.

Great read even though it is a little dark!

16 thoughts on “It is Monday! What are you reading? 3/23/15

    1. I try not to make assumptions on what is appropriate for grade levels. It really depends on your student. I know when I was going up, I was much more mature than a lot of other kids in my class and I was reading at much higher levels than them as well. The books does talk about sex and drugs, but I think that you will have students that will handle that well and students that might be a little more uncomfortable with it. Honestly, as much as children are exposed to that kind of thing every day on TV and in music, I don’t think that it would be at all shocking to them. The book doesn’t get into too great of detail with anything too bad, but it definitely portrays how you can get on a slippery slope when you get mixed up in these kinds of shenanigans.

      Like

  1. I appreciate this recommendation. I don’t really like this kind of book very much but many of my students do, so I need to know more titles to recommend to the Ellen Hopkins fan. Will definitely file this one away!

    Like

  2. This summary makes me hope that I will never force my kids to move while their in middle school or older. Until college, I lived in the same town from the time I was 5 on. However, I know so many kids who either moved to or from my hometown that just went a little off the deep end afterwards. Transitioning to a new environment is so difficult for adolescents, and I think this book would perhaps help a kid go through the process more easily (or scare them away from transitioning poorly).

    Like

Leave a Reply

