Goals and Challenges for Young Adult Literature

So as we get to the middle of the semester, I have been reflecting over what I have read for this class so far. My reading is going well for this class. I feel like I am setting time apart for myself to read what I want to and gain ideas about what I can refer to my students someday.

The books that have been most memorable to me are the ones that deal with problems that young people may face. Books about parent divorce, eating disorder, drug use and rape have been the ones that stick out the most to me. I feel like when students can read a book that deal with something that they are going through that they will be able to learn how others deal with their problems and know that they are not alone with what they are going through. I can always find an understanding in books when I come across characters that have similar problems to me. These books can also be an eye opener for students that have never considered the possibility of these things happening to themselves or their peers.

My learning goals for the rest of the semester are to start reading a more diverse list of authors and to step out of my comfort zone and read a sic-fi book or something. I am going to challenge myself to do this for the sake of my future students. Good teachers can only give good recommendations if they are a well rounded reader! I feel like I’m progressing in reading a variety of authors because of the assigned readings, but I am going to try to seek those kinds of books out myself. Thank the good Lord for NOOK recommendations!

Blogging about the books that we have all read for this class definitely gives me a good idea about what I should be venturing to look for. We have a variety of readers and that is great! The Twitter discussions are also great! It is awesome to hear other people’s perspectives and get to voice our own. Everyone interprets literature in different ways and it is important that we can get our ideas out there!

I can’t wait to challenge myself the second half of this semester!

2 thoughts on “Goals and Challenges for Young Adult Literature

  1. Terrific goals for the second half of the semester! I thought I didn’t like fantasy/magic books until I read “Jinx” by Sage Blackwood, and now it’s one of my favorite series. I’ve had good luck “selling” Jennifer Nielsen’s “The False Prince” to students as well. Sci-fi isn’t something I read very much, and it wasn’t very popular in my classroom library either (fantasy was MUCH more popular!).

    Like

Leave a Reply

