Not thin, FIT.

The two words that are dreaded by most Freshman girls at college are freshman fifteen. When I came to college I was freaking out about it.

A quick confession about myself. Throughout high school, I suffered from an eating disorder. I was a very thin girl, but that was not what I saw when I looked in the mirror. I was comparatively thinner than most girls I went to school with, but that was not good enough for me. I started eating less and less every day. If I for hungry I would nibble on something small just to get the hunger to go away, but I would never eat until I was full. At school I would eat a little fruit and throw the rest of my food away. When I got home from school and mom made supper, I would tell her that I ate a big lunch at school and I wasn’t really all that hungry, I would warm something up later when I got hungry. Within a few weeks of this, I was starting to see results, but so where my peers and my mother. One of my best friends at school noticed how much weight I had lost and that I was not eating very much. Her aunt worked at the school and having no where else to turn, she confided in her aunt about my problem.

Julie sat me down one day to try to figure out what was going on. I denied it until I was blue in the face, but Julie always had a way of getting the truth out of people. She was worried and my mother was worried. To get me back on track, Julie would makmotivational-fitness-quotes-for-girlsdump-a-day-the-best-motivational-fitness-quotes--28-pics-9iskakcte sure I ate at lunch during school and my mother would monitor my eating when I was at home. I finally got back to a healthy weight and I was okay with that. I felt ashamed of myself for having such a negative body image and getting to the point of not eating.

I did gain the dreaded Freshman Fifteen last year as a Freshman and it had me freaking out, bad. So last summer I went on a diet. Not quite like the one I went on in high school though. I just started eating healthier and got back down to 120 pounds, but now I am getting in my bad eating habits again. So I decided to spend my five hours of learning this week on how to be fit! I have done so much research on the best workouts and how to tone my body in the places that I want toned. I don’t want to be thin and dainty, I want to be strong. So as of tomorrow I begin a treacherous 14 weeks of working out. Exhaustion here I come, but I cannot wait to reach my goal.

6 thoughts on “Not thin, FIT.

  1. My younger sister has struggled with an eating disorder since she was 14. I applaud the fact that you were able to come out of it, and that you are working on ways to keep from going back. If you ever need any advice on workouts or lifts, I’m your girl. Not that I’m a beastly lifter; we only do enough to stay toned for cross country. Keep up the good work, and I’ll be looking forward to your next post.

    Like

    1. Thanks Nicky! Having someone to go to for advice is great. Lifting advice would be great. I don’t know if you can tell by my teeny tiny arms, but I don’t know much about that! I am excited about this. If you had any running strategies for an effective run that would be great!

      Like

  2. I am glad you are working on improving your image in a healthy way! I know the troubles of weight, I used to eat my problems away. I would love to hear about the diet you went on over the summer. I wish you well!

    Like

    1. The diet was extremely simply! For breakfast every morning I would try to eat two eggs and a piece of toast with a small amount of jelly on it. For lunch I would ry to keep it light with a salad loaded with vegetables and a small amount of dressing. For supper I would cook chicken breast in a little bit of olive oil and a little bit of season salt and then I would steam vegetable for a side. My favorite was steamed green beans with a little olive oil and a little bit of garlic salt. I would eat until I was almost full to ensure I was comfortable and I didn’t want to overeat. I cut out all sugary drinks and drank A LOT of water. To add a little flavor to the water I would put lemons and limes in it. If I ever got bored and wanted to munch on something I would eat a hand full of Veggie Straws. There are super low calorie and they are delicious!

      Like

    1. Thanks Kelsey! It used to be really hard to talk about. I especially hated when people would make comments like, “That’s dumb, you are so skinny.” People have a hard time understanding that an eating disorder is a sickness in your mind and I wasn’t seeing what other people saw when I was looking in the mirror.

      Like

Leave a Reply

